Jurisprudence & Alternatives

When Unia believes there is a case of discrimination to be answered, we try to establish constructive dialogue and settle the matter out of court. Legal action is always our last resort. Even then, we seek alternative measures.

Dialogue if possible, legal action if necessary

In many cases Unia's role is essentially a supportive one. We inform the complainant or the parties in question about their rights and duties. We dedicate all further effort in cases of discrimination to reaching a constructive, out of court settlement. This improves the chances of a quick, permanent and structured solution and so helps establish a preventive approach to discrimination.

Unia will go to court if an amicable solution does not appear possible, if the case is highly relevant from a social point of view (to establish a legal precedent, for example, or clarify a point of law) or if the facts of the case are particularly serious (such as flagrant hate crime). But even in these cases we seek alternative measures which could affect the victim and the perpetrator positively.

Stay up to date

If you would like to follow Unia's activities there are several ways to do this:

Follow us on Facebook and Twitter

Jurisprudence & Alternatives

Si Unia estime qu’il peut s’agir d’un cas de discrimination, nous cherchons en priorité à parvenir à un dialogue constructif et à une solution extrajudiciaire. Nous ne recourons à des démarches judiciaires qu’en ultime recours, et même dans ce cas nous privilégions des mesures alternatives.

Le dialogue si possible, les démarches judiciaires si nécessaire

Dans un grand nombre de dossiers, Unia exerce surtout une fonction d’appui. Nous informons alors le plaignant ou les parties concernées de leurs droits et de leurs devoirs. Nos autres interventions dans des dossiers de discrimination visent avant tout un règlement constructif et extrajudiciaire. Cette approche offre de meilleures chances d’aboutir à une solution rapide, durable et souvent structurelle et contribue ainsi à la prévention des discriminations.

Unia ne saisit le tribunal que si une solution extrajudiciaire s’avère impossible, si l’affaire constitue un enjeu de société (par exemple pour établir un précédent ou pour clarifier la législation) ou si les faits sont particulièrement graves (par exemple des délits de haine flagrants). Mais même dans ces cas, nous favorisons des mesures alternatives, qui peuvent exercer un impact positif sur l’auteur et la victime.

Restez informé-e

Restez informé-e de nos différentes activités :

Suivez-nous sur Facebook et Twitter